Home Page
Posted By: Breiztiger amstrad pc 1512 - 09/06/16 05:17 PM
hi

very good to see keyboard probs are gone from latest build grin

i run this commandline :

mess64 pc1512 -ic112:0 525dd -flop1 "C:\amstrad\AMSTRAD 1512 1640\46001F.IMG" -ic112:1 525dd -flop2 "C:\amstrad\AMSTRAD 1512 1640\46005F.IMG" -isa1 wdxt_gen -hard1 "c:\amstrad\PC1640HD20 - Amstrad 40095 (Alps DRMD20A12A).chd" -skip_gameinfo -window

and i get "harddisk not ready" and continue to boot from floppy

what i have make wrong ?

thanks in advance
Posted By: R. Belmont Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/06/16 05:30 PM
Did you create the .chd file according to the proper parameters?
Posted By: Breiztiger Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/06/16 06:27 PM
i have use this

chdman createhd -o "PC1640HD20 - Amstrad 40095 (Alps DRMD20A12A).chd" -c none -chs 615,4,17 -ss 512
Posted By: Darkstar Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/07/16 06:02 PM
shouldn't that be "-hard0" instead of "-hard1" for the first harddisk?

Code:
d:\Devel\MAME>mame64 pc1512 -ic112:0 525dd -ic112:1 525dd -isa1 wdxt_gen -listdevices
Driver pc1512 (PC1512 SD):
   <root>                         PC1512 SD
     cent_data_out                Output Latch
     centronics                   Centronics
       printer                    Centronics Printer
         printer                  Printer
     flop_list                    Software list
     ic106                        National Semiconductor INS8250 @ 1.84 MHz
     ic109                        8259 PIC
     ic112                        PC FDC XT
       0                          Floppy drive connector abstraction
         525dd                    5.25" double density floppy drive
           floppysound            Floppy sound @ 44.10 kHz
           flopsndout             Speaker
       1                          Floppy drive connector abstraction
         525dd                    5.25" double density floppy drive
           floppysound            Floppy sound @ 44.10 kHz
           flopsndout             Speaker
       upd765                     UPD765A
     ic114                        8253 PIT
     ic120                        I8086 @ 8.00 MHz
     ic126                        AMS40041 CRTC @ 894.88 kHz
     ic130                        AM9517A @ 4.00 MHz
     ic134                        MC146818 RTC @ 32.76 kHz
     isa                          ISA8
     isa1                         ISA8_SLOT
       wdxt_gen                   Western Digital WDXT-GEN (Amstrad PC1512/1640)
         hard0                    Harddisk          <----------------------- HERE ----------
         hard1                    Harddisk
         u11                      Western Digital WD11C00-17 @ 5.00 MHz
         u6                       I8049 @ 5.00 MHz
         u7                       Western Digital WD2010 @ 5.00 MHz
     isa2                         ISA8_SLOT
     isa3                         ISA8_SLOT
     mono                         Speaker
     pc1512_keyboard              Amstrad PC1512 Keyboard
       ic801                      I8048 @ 6.00 MHz
     ram                          RAM
     rs232                        RS232 Port
     screen                       Video Screen
     speaker                      Filtered 1-bit DAC
Posted By: Breiztiger Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/07/16 07:25 PM
hi i have also try this but i get

Error: unknown option: -hard0
Posted By: Darkstar Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/08/16 07:01 PM
Hm, yes, I see. Strange. Just when I think I finally understand the syntax of MAME's command line, something like this happens :-D
Posted By: shattered Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/09/16 05:27 AM
mess <...> -listmedia will show valid -hardN options.


MAME's command line is like Unix -- friendly, but chooses its friends wisely smile a few samples:

choose an alternate ROM on a slot device: "-isa1 rom,bios=whatever"

attach a Covox to parallel port: "-isa2 pclpt -isa2:pclpt:lpt:centronics covox"
Posted By: Breiztiger Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/10/16 07:13 AM
another question ...

i have put floppy wavs directory sample in samples

but i haven't floppy sound when run the commandline

does i have miss a switch ?
Posted By: Curt Coder Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/12/16 11:14 AM
Originally Posted By Breiztiger
mess64 pc1512 -ic112:0 525dd -flop1 "C:\amstrad\AMSTRAD 1512 1640\46001F.IMG" -ic112:1 525dd -flop2 "C:\amstrad\AMSTRAD 1512 1640\46005F.IMG" -isa1 wdxt_gen -hard1 "c:\amstrad\PC1640HD20 - Amstrad 40095 (Alps DRMD20A12A).chd" -skip_gameinfo -window

and i get "harddisk not ready" and continue to boot from floppy

what i have make wrong ?


wdxt_gen does not work, use "hdc"
Posted By: Breiztiger Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/12/16 05:17 PM
YES it works !!!

thanks a lot Curt Cover

and for floppy sound ? nobody ?
Posted By: Pernod Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/13/16 03:03 PM
Originally Posted By Breiztiger
and for floppy sound ? nobody ?

Floppy sounds are enabled per drive in the driver, it will need updating.
Can someone explain why we have to enable the sounds, and why they are not simply enabled by default.
Posted By: R. Belmont Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/13/16 03:21 PM
Because it's not a feature so much as one developer's experimental pipe dream. Personally I hate it.
Posted By: Breiztiger Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/14/16 05:19 PM
i like having floppy sound on emulated computers

"les gouts et les couleurs" ...
Posted By: Olivier Galibert Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/14/16 07:33 PM
Originally Posted By Breiztiger
i like having floppy sound on emulated computers


As far as I can tell, RB is not against floppy sounds on principle, he's just not satisfied with the current implementation.

OG.
Posted By: Lord Nightmare Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/14/16 11:26 PM
mizapf said that a future update to the implementation will use synthesized waveforms and filters, rather than stitching together samples, which I'm looking forward to seeing/hearing.

LN
Posted By: R. Belmont Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/15/16 12:26 AM
I'm bordering on hating them on principle, but we'll see about the synthesized version.
Posted By: Breiztiger Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/19/21 05:03 PM
hi

with last release of mame this comandline doesn't boot anymore on hdd

mess pc1512HD20 -bios v2 -ic112:0 525dd -ic112:1 525dd -isa1 hdc -hard1 "s:\emulat\mess\PC1512HD20 - Tandon TM-262.chd" -skip_gameinfo -window

can somebody help me please ?
Posted By: =CO=Windler Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/20/21 11:16 PM
Emulated floppy sound is definitely useful to indicate if a program (e.g. on C64) is really loading such slowly or has crashed in between. It does not matter if it sounds a bit unrealistic. But please do not come in mind to implement this with netlist instead of samples if that will slow down emulation. Diskette drive brands anyway differ in sound (and wobbling floppys even worse), so there can't be one perfect solution.

Almost 2 decades ago I tried to emulate circuitry with relay sound of 2 EM pinball machines in Visual Pinball and even tried hard to mimic some ball rolling noises.

http://weltenschule.de/pinball.html

Despite it sounded often unrealistic, it definitely improved the atmosphere of EM pinball games. Nowadays it would make much sense to write an EM pinball emulator that can execute the original wiring schematics as program code, since the schematics of most pinballs are available. (I had planned such things but never continued.) Each relay and mechanical part should have its own distinct sound, which nowadays would perhaps use filters and stereo effects and not only one sample like the relays in my crude code.

I remember the Schneider/Amstrad PC1512 from shopping centers. It had GEM desktop and a strange flimsy mouse plug that looked like a telephone receiver plug (smaller version of ethernet plug). Later I saw that kind of mice only in toy laptops (VTech etc.,with very short cable).
Posted By: Breiztiger Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/25/21 08:12 AM
mouse on pc1512 is db9
Posted By: =CO=Windler Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/29/21 03:32 AM
Originally Posted by Breiztiger
mouse on pc1512 is db9
Then I confused it with another strange XT/AT clone. I see, this mouse seems to be even Amiga compatible!

https://www.seasip.info/AmstradXT/1512tech/section1.html
https://www.amigawiki.org/doku.php?id=de:signals:mouse_port_pinouts

Did it type random characters in DOS text mode due to connection to the keyboard port? (C64 does such things when moving the joystick.) I also remember in shopping centers there was an XT/AT (pc1512?) that had a B/W monitor with long persistence "white" phosphor, but new appearing letters or flashing cursor started glowing pink, and the afterglow was green or such - very odd behaviour.
Posted By: Darkstar Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/29/21 07:36 AM
Originally Posted by =CO=Windler
Did it type random characters in DOS text mode due to connection to the keyboard port? (C64 does such things when moving the joystick.)
Apparently it uses scancodes 7D and 7E, which are not used on regular PC/XT/AT keyboards, so it shouldn't conflict. C64 is different as its keyboard doesn't use a serial connection
Posted By: Breiztiger Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 09/29/21 11:49 AM
as someone succes to boot from hdd with last mame build ?
Posted By: Breiztiger Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 10/10/21 09:10 AM
sorry but with last build a got this when a launch

mess pc1512hd20 -bios v2 -isa1 hdc -hard1 "s:\emulat\mess\PC1512HD20 - Tandon TM-262.chd" -skip_gameinfo -window

Illegal double vector value = 0.75,0.0
Illegal triple vector value = 0.0,0.0,0.0
Illegal triple vector value = 0.0,0.0,0.0
Illegal triple vector value = 0.0,0.0,0.0
Illegal triple vector value = 0.0,0.0,0.0
Illegal triple vector value = 1.05,0.00,0.10
Illegal triple vector value = -0.10,1.00,0.25
Illegal triple vector value = -0.25,0.25,1.25
Illegal triple vector value = -0.30,-0.20,-0.05
Illegal triple vector value = 1.15,1.05,0.90
Illegal triple vector value = 0.90,0.90,1.15
Illegal triple vector value = 0.025,0.025,0.025
Illegal triple vector value = 0.25,0.25,0.25
Illegal double vector value = 0.630,0.340
Illegal double vector value = 0.310,0.595
Illegal double vector value = 0.155,0.070
Illegal triple vector value = 0.299,0.587,0.114
Illegal triple vector value = 0.2124,0.7011,0.0866
Illegal triple vector value = 1.00,1.00,1.00
Posted By: MASH Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 10/15/21 09:55 PM
@Breiztiger

I have also the "Illegal ?? vector value" error logs with my MAME build.
See https://git.redump.net/mame/commit/...ac9ca1d020ae9d1f335f7bbb8876680d5fb41603
MAME 0.237
Set locale on start so sorting in the UI works properly [Vas Crabb].


If you removed in src\osd\windows\winmain.cpp the new line 290 " std::setlocale(LC_ALL, ""); " the error logs disappear.
Or your set
std::setlocale(LC_ALL, "");
to
std::setlocale(LC_ALL, "en-US");
Posted By: Breiztiger Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 10/16/21 10:52 AM
cool that work !!!

i have only add en-US

do you have succes to load pc1512 with hdd support ?

thanks a lot ;-)
Posted By: MASH Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 10/16/21 04:00 PM
Do you have succes to load pc1512 with hdd support ?
No. The BIOS did not not recognize the hard disk.
I try the PCem emulator with [8086] Amstrad PC1512 + FPU 8087, 512KB, [IDE]XTIDE and the harddisk
converted from CDH to IMG, but this also did not work...
Posted By: Breiztiger Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 10/17/21 07:21 AM
before last commits it work with that commandline (but i don't know when it's broke)

mess pc1512hd20 -bios v2 -isa1 hdc -hard1 "s:\emulat\mess\PC1512HD20 - Tandon TM-262.chd" -skip_gameinfo -window

i have install DOS and DOS+ on the same chd that i can choose at boot like real pc1512 with F1 and F2
Posted By: Breiztiger Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 10/19/21 08:25 PM
just compil with last commit

hdd work again !!!

thanks a lot ;-)
Posted By: Breiztiger Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 10/26/21 01:55 PM
can this correction push to repo please ?

in winmain.cpp

std::setlocale(LC_ALL, "");
to
std::setlocale(LC_ALL, "en-US");
Posted By: Vas Crabb Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 10/26/21 01:56 PM
Originally Posted by Breiztiger
can this correction push to repo please ?

in winmain.cpp

std::setlocale(LC_ALL, "");
to
std::setlocale(LC_ALL, "en-US");
No, that’s not a correction at all. If there’s locale-sensitive code in MAME causing this issue, it needs to be identified and fixed.
Posted By: MASH Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 10/29/21 11:23 PM
This is now fixed for all non-English Windows OS.
See https://mametesters.org/view.php?id=8118

std::setlocale(LC_ALL, ""); can stay like this in src\osd\windows\winmain.cpp
Posted By: Vas Crabb Re: amstrad pc 1512 - 10/30/21 05:24 AM
Originally Posted by MASH
This is now fixed for all non-English Windows OS.
See https://mametesters.org/view.php?id=8118

std::setlocale(LC_ALL, ""); can stay like this in src\osd\windows\winmain.cpp
The PC1512 issue is presumably separate from that and still needs someone who actually cares about the system to track it down and fix it. We’ve been running with the global locale set on macOS since forever, so I thought most of the issues would have shaken out already. But “hope Vas fixes it” as a strategy for handling bugs is getting really old.
© Forums