Home Page

Simple request regarding dropdown

Posted By: Isamu

Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/26/14 09:59 PM

Hi Rene, absolutely loving QMC2 so far. Ridiculously awesome frontend!

I have somewhat of strange but trivial request regarding the frontend GUI. Kinda long so bare with me...

OK, so you know how in the QMC2 GUI window, we have the left side, which displays the roms/systems/etc, and on the right side are the tabs for things like Previews, Software list, Configuration, etc. right? Well under the "configuration" tab, where we are allowed to make changes to each specific rom or machine, there is a category called "state/playback". Then under that is a sub-category called "statename".

We all know that statename allows us to name whatever name of the savestate we want, as hinted at from my good friend R.Belmont in my other thread. I find this ability to be awesome! Next to the statename is usually the "%g" string by default. I can type whatever name I want next to that and it will create a subfolder folder called that name(ie snes>zelda). The way you have integrated this option into QMCS2 is magnificent. However, there is one teeeny TINY small thing I would like to see done with this....

OK so you know how next to where it says statename, I notice that the blank box containing the %g is also a dropdown menu. If you type something after %g and want to change it back to the default, you can simply click the drop down arrow and click the %g below to return to just "%g".

What I would like to request, is a way for that specific dropdown menu to store the entries we've made in that box. For example....let's say I want to play say, five different games from the same system....let's say snes.... Zelda, Mario, finial fight, mortal kombat, and f-zero. For me to have a different savestate for each of those particular games, I need to type something short that represents each of those games, right? OK so let's say I type %g/Zel, %g/FF, %g/Mar, %g/MK and %g/F-z. I now have five different sub-folders that QMC2 had created within the "snes" directory. Great....

Now....., let's say I exit out of QMC2 altogether and go out for a few hours, spend time with my girlfriend, go grocery shopping and comeback home. If I fire up QMC2 and want to revisit those five particular snes games, I have to re-type "%g/Zel, %g/FF, %g/Mar, %g/MK and %g/F-z" all over again for each of those game if I want to continue loading those states and saving them in those unique folders. That is why I'm asking if you could please change it so that the dropdown menu box next to "statename" can store and remember whatever entries we type in for that one machine or whatever machine we're running. It would be more convenient and would make the process of choosing your savestate subfolders quicker.

Is there anyway you can add this ability in one of the next versions of QMC2 Rene?

Thanks and keep up the great work smile
Posted By: etabeta78

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/27/14 01:30 PM

there is a solution for this issue in MAME/MESS itself smile

if you read better the documentation about statename, you would see that if you put "%g/%d_cart" the emu will use for the state name the filename of the game you mount in the "cart device" avoiding you the need to change the name for each game

similarly with "%g/%d_cdrm" MESS will use the name of the cd game for state name, etc.

same syntax for snapname & images wink
Posted By: qmc2

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/27/14 04:44 PM

@Isamu: well, although your request is basically doable, it's much more work / complicated than it might sound in the first place... and for this particular request there's even a better solution as etabeta78 explained.
Posted By: Isamu

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/27/14 11:09 PM

Originally Posted By etabeta78
there is a solution for this issue in MAME/MESS itself smile

if you read better the documentation about statename, you would see that if you put "%g/%d_cart" the emu will use for the state name the filename of the game you mount in the "cart device" avoiding you the need to change the name for each game

similarly with "%g/%d_cdrm" MESS will use the name of the cd game for state name, etc.

same syntax for snapname & images wink


oh my god.....

OH....MY....GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

IT WORKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


etabeta78 you are a freakin GENIUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can't believe it but you're right, this actually works and is exactly what I was looking for!!!!!!

R.Belmont tried to explain to me that it was possible to do it this way so he told me to go look at the config txt file which I did. However, I swear I read that section multiple times and still didn't understand what it meant by adding /%d_cart or /%d_cdrm or whatever after the %g string. I thought that it meant it would it create a folder name "cart" or "cdrm" or whatever, and place the statefiles in there. This went RIGHT over my head and gosh darnnit I feel like a grade A idiot for not catching it the first time.

Try not laugh too hard arbee cuz I know you're over there cracking up right about now but it's all good my friend I'm still learning the ropes! laugh

Thanks for explaining how to do it Etabeta you rock dude!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :bow: :slave: :notworthy: :etabeta78ForPresident:

Rene disregard my origianl suggestion bro, this is much better. I'll let you get back work on more important things now smile
Posted By: etabeta78

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/28/14 04:00 PM

for the record, I was the one who added the option to the emulator, and that is why I know it pretty well wink

just be careful that if you ever start playing with home computers and games which require an OS disk + the game disk, you need to adjust the %d_flop1 or %d_flop2 properly to avoid savestates / images named after DOS or CP/M wink
or if you alternate between disk and cassette games you might have to switch the option a few times... always better than adjusting it for each single game, though

and as long as you stick to consoles with carts and cd-roms you barely need to change that option ever smile
Posted By: Isamu

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/28/14 07:09 PM

Originally Posted By etabeta78
for the record, I was the one who added the option to the emulator, and that is why I know it pretty well wink

just be careful that if you ever start playing with home computers and games which require an OS disk + the game disk, you need to adjust the %d_flop1 or %d_flop2 properly to avoid savestates / images named after DOS or CP/M wink
or if you alternate between disk and cassette games you might have to switch the option a few times... always better than adjusting it for each single game, though

and as long as you stick to consoles with carts and cd-roms you barely need to change that option ever smile


Awesome my friend! Definitely will keep that in mind! Excellent work on adding this feature it is RIDICULOUSLY superb and outstanding!!!!

Quick question, is there a text or config file or readme anywhere in my mame/mess/ume folders, that contain ALL the different MEDIA commands like Flop_1, Flop_2, cdrm, cart, etc? I'd like to put them on one big comprehensive easy to access list because I'm sure I'll forget 'em some day.
Posted By: qmc2

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/28/14 07:15 PM

Originally Posted By Isamu
Quick question, is there a text or config file or readme anywhere in my mame/mess/ume folders, that contain ALL the different MEDIA commands like Flop_1, Flop_2, cdrm, cart, etc? I'd like to put them on one big comprehensive easy to access list because I'm sure I'll forget 'em some day.

I'm not 100% sure, but I'd say that those are the "brief names" of the devices in question... if so, then there's no need to write them down, you'll find them in QMC2's device mappings (and/or in the XML output from -listxml).
Posted By: Isamu

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/28/14 08:09 PM

Thanks Rene...

Two questions.....

1)That link you posted talks about the device mappings. I am curious...what is the purpose of the "Quickload"? It allows me to mount a zip, psx, or exe file, but what exactly does this do?

2)Going to back to the topic of the devices tab in general, I was curious to know why launching a game from within the "Software Lists" list ignores the settings of the Devices tab? In other words, If I launch DraculaX from the software lists section, and I have two memory cards mounted under the Devices>Device mappings tab, the game will ignore those and launch with no memory card mounted, requiring me to mount them in the mess menu. Is this something that was by design? Or is it a limitation of how MESS works with its Software List feature?
Posted By: qmc2

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/28/14 08:22 PM

1) See MESS wiki.

2) I've answered this here already. Please don't double post the same questions wink.
Posted By: R. Belmont

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/28/14 08:28 PM

Quickloads in the PSX driver are for some simple demos/homebrews that come as single files. The large majority are disc images though.
Posted By: Isamu

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/28/14 08:41 PM

Thanks guys.

Sorry Rene I didn't see your answer in the other thread because the mess forum wasn't loading for me for some reason.
Posted By: Isamu

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/30/14 08:08 AM

Originally Posted By etabeta78
there is a solution for this issue in MAME/MESS itself smile

if you read better the documentation about statename, you would see that if you put "%g/%d_cart" the emu will use for the state name the filename of the game you mount in the "cart device" avoiding you the need to change the name for each game

similarly with "%g/%d_cdrm" MESS will use the name of the cd game for state name, etc.

same syntax for snapname & images wink


etabeta/Rene quick question....what if I'm using a machine that supports both formats, ie PC-Engine? What would the command be? I tried %g/%d_cdrm/%d_cart but that didn't work.
Posted By: qmc2

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/30/14 08:35 AM

As I'm not exactly sure I'll leave that for etabeta78 smile.
Posted By: Isamu

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/30/14 09:56 PM

Paging etabeta smile
Posted By: Tafoid

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/31/14 09:01 PM

AFAIK whatever softlisthash.xml is used to source the game should be the one that is used when doing anything related to output.

The best way to find out just is "do it". MAME/MESS is very much about exploring your own way to do things.
Posted By: R. Belmont

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 08/31/14 09:35 PM

You have to change the format string depending on your media type, as far as I'm aware.
Posted By: etabeta78

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 09/01/14 04:09 AM

Originally Posted By Isamu
I tried %g/%d_cdrm/%d_cart but that didn't work.


it depends on what you want the save/snap name to be
if you run "mess pce -cart cdsys -cdrm draculax", your try would give you a save state names

sav/pce/draculax/cdsys/*.sav
(system + the cdrom name + cart name, because it's what you asked for with that option)

if you want it to be in a folder named only pce/draculax you just use "%g/%d_cdrm"
but then you will need to change it to "%g/%d_cart" when you go back to PCE cart games smile
Posted By: Isamu

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 09/01/14 06:08 AM

Perfect. That is what I wanted to know. Thank you RB and Etabeta. Your help is much appreciated.
Posted By: Isamu

Re: Simple request regarding dropdown - 04/22/18 03:40 PM

Bump, since I had forgotten all about this solution and nearly forgot the fact that I made this post. Was racking my brain trying to remember how to accomplish this but thank god the thread still exists heh. Whatever you guys do don't purge ancient threads lol.
© 2019 Forums