Home Page

Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ?

Posted By: Mr.Tickles

Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ? - 08/04/09 08:48 AM

I just can't find it. Is it included in the .frz or something?
I want to have my final fantasy .sav, but there's no .sav file with Nestopia. I can't go back and use some old emulator since all of the old OSX ones have been culled. Maybe I'll dust off iNES 1.2 and play on my G3 iMac.
Posted By: Maddox

Re: Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ? - 08/04/09 09:47 AM

In whatever folder you extracted nestopia into there should be a folder named "save", that's where your FF save will go as long as your talking about saving at the inn and not a "save state" which goes to the "states" folder.
If the "save" folder isn't there nestopia should automaticly make one when you open Final Fantasy.
Posted By: Mr.Tickles

Re: Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ? - 08/04/09 10:11 AM

But thats the thing. There is no "Save" folder. The only thing in my Nestopia folder is ROMS, and the states save into Documents, where the .sav does not.

It's not in the foldier with the ROM either.

Typically the file name would be the ROM's name but with .sav instead of .nes right? when i search my computer for that sorta thing i dont find anything at all.
Posted By: Maddox

Re: Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ? - 08/04/09 10:22 AM

hmm...try this

Open nestopia and go to "options" then click "paths" and manualy set the directory up in the "save data" path slot.

(I'm running version 1.4, I don't know if the set up is different in other versions)

note the program wont create the .sav file until you actualy save at the INN and the game tells it to make one.
Posted By: Mr.Tickles

Re: Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ? - 08/04/09 06:42 PM

I'm running 1.4.1 OSX. There is no such "paths" anywhere in the entire GUI.

I know a .sav EXISTS somewhere because I did save. But there are no .sav on my computer for NES games. This makes no sense.
Posted By: Just Desserts

Re: Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ? - 08/05/09 12:55 PM

Have you tried looking in any of your personal / home directories?
Posted By: R. Belmont

Re: Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ? - 08/05/09 01:53 PM

I don't get the problem. Are you actually losing the save data? (in other words, did you save at the inn and then you couldn't load the next time you started FF?). NST isn't like other emulators - it won't create a .SAV file until you've actually done a valid save in game. In FF that means saving at the inn in-game and then cleanly exiting the emulator.

Beyond that, if the game's able to recover the saved data I wouldn't care where it is.
Posted By: Richard Bannister

Re: Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ? - 08/06/09 06:07 AM

In the Mac version .sav files are stored in ~/Library/Application Support/Bannister/Nestopia/Battery RAM/. Though I'm not sure why it matters... smile
Posted By: Mr.Tickles

Re: Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ? - 08/16/09 08:11 AM

Ok I figured it out.

So there's three "Library" folders, apparently, in OSX.

How do I change the settings, then, so that the .savs are put in the same folder as the application? I dont want to go digging through a dozen folders to find it.
Posted By: R. Belmont

Re: Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ? - 08/16/09 01:57 PM

I still don't get why you need actual access to the .sav file. As long as it saves and loads properly by default that should be all you need to play the games.
Posted By: Richard Bannister

Re: Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ? - 08/16/09 11:11 PM

You don't change the settings. That path is not configurable, nor do I intend to make it changeable in future versions. Make an alias to the folder if you want to access it more easily (though I don't understand why it matters...)
Posted By: Vas Crabb

Re: Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ? - 08/17/09 08:40 AM

It's often convenient to keep all generated files with the ROM. That way, you can do things like keep your ROM(s) and all associated files on an external disk and move it between machines. The one size fits all attitude (and monetising free emulators through Emulator Enhancer) don't make you seem very endearing.
Posted By: R. Belmont

Re: Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ? - 08/17/09 02:05 PM

But the Mac *invented* one size fits all smile
Posted By: Richard Bannister

Re: Where the dickens does Nestopia store the .sav ? - 08/18/09 06:35 AM

I think this thread has reached the end of its useful life at this point.
© 2020 Forums