Next Thread
Print Thread
D-Pad (Hat Switch?) not being recognized #53212 09/01/09 08:56 AM
B
Billy_ca Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Greetings Mac OS X Mamers,

I'm totally new to the Mac Maming world. I just picked up a Mad Catz USB game controller today that says it's for Mac (it looks like an XBox controller, here's a picture ) at the Best Buy.

I'm now trying to play MAME OS X and the left analog stick seems to be working fine as a standard joystick, but the NES style cross D-pad (Hat Switch?) just underneath it is not being recognized at all.

I've tried USB Overdrive, which does recognize the D-Pad, but it appears to interfere with MAME OS X so that the controller doesn't work at all in MAME when I have Overdrive turned on. So that's no good.

I can still get by playing with the joystick, but I'd rather play with the D-Pad since I'm so used to an SNES style D-Pad controller.

Has anyone else had this problem? Any ideas on what might be causing it and if it'll be fixed in the future?

I'm thinking of maybe bringing back this controller, do you think a Logitech Dual Action USB controller might work better? Or does anyone here have any recommendations on controllers that work particularly well with MAME OS X and other emulators?

Thanks for any help or information you might be able to provide! smile

Re: D-Pad (Hat Switch?) not being recognized [Re: Billy_ca] #53217 09/01/09 02:48 PM
S
Sune Offline
S
What happens when you press TAB and try to remap the P1 directional controls to the D-pad?

Re: D-Pad (Hat Switch?) not being recognized [Re: Sune] #53218 09/01/09 02:57 PM
R
R. Belmont Offline
Very Senior Member
Very Senior Member
R
Hat switches historically have been somewhat problematic in MAME in general, although AFAIK they work in current baseline and SDLMAME.

Re: D-Pad (Hat Switch?) not being recognized [Re: Sune] #53220 09/01/09 05:09 PM
B
Billy_ca Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Originally Posted By Sune