Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#74121 11/04/11 04:29 PM
Evan Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi all,

I am having trouble getting any fronted to run on OSX Lion with the latest build of mame or mame64. I have tried all three main front ends:
mametunes, mamepgui, andqmc2.
All of the directories point to the correct build of mame Latest version (.138). I also have the latest SDL build installed.
When I launch mamepgui, it loads the xml file (approx. 10,500 ROMs), then quits.
mametunes quits on an attempted ROM launch with a "2" error.
QMC2 quits with a missing files error, although all of the ROMs loaded and worked fine with the last build od SDLmame.

Sorry to be so dumb, but I am not a programmer, and grew up in the MacMAME realm (since like version .1 or something).

Any help appreciated, thanks so much!

smile

Last edited by Evan; 11/04/11 04:30 PM.
Q
Very Senior Member
Very Senior Member
Q
Can't speak for the other FEs...

Originally Posted By Evan
QMC2 quits with a missing files error, although all of the ROMs loaded and worked fine with the last build of SDLmame.

I'm not sure if I get you right, but you've probably just missed to either setup the 'rompath' within QMC2, or (easier/better!) to specify the working directory of the emulator. Assuming that your ROMs are inside the 'roms' sub-folder, just go to 'Tools' -> 'Options...' (in the menu), then select the 'Emulator' -> 'Files / Directories' tab and enter (or select) the 'Working directory' of the emulator (its absolute path, where the MAME executable file resides). Click on Apply or OK and recheck your ROMs...

A mind is like a parachute. It doesn't work unless it's open. [Frank Zappa]
Q
Very Senior Member
Very Senior Member
Q
BTW... MAME 0.138 is not the "latest", it's 0.143 (soon 0.144). That said, it may also be that "mame -listxml" crashes in the version you're using... have you tried to run this stand-alone (on the command line)?