Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Sub-channel support for CDs #106171 06/26/16 08:25 PM
F
Fake Shemp Online Content OP
OP Online Content
F
As far as I know, the CHD format for CDs currently doesn't support dump formats such as CCD/SUB, MDF/MDS and those from RawDump, which arguably would be better for preservation. At least they would allow for CD+G, LibCrypt and other copy-protected and subchannel-abusing discs to work.

I'm an amateur coder who don't really know much about the core of MAME. Would it be a very intense project to implement support for one/some of these formats?

I can see that the reverse engineering of the formats might be a handful, but I'm thinking more in the terms of getting sub-channels and such to integrate well with MAME.

I'm thinking of working on it myself of course. This is no request.

Re: Sub-channel support for CDs [Re: Fake Shemp] #106177 06/27/16 12:01 AM
Kale Offline
Very Senior Member
Very Senior Member
Your best bet is to start supporting CCD/SUB format first then go all-in for CHD (if possible at all).

Re: Sub-channel support for CDs [Re: Fake Shemp] #106187 06/28/16 07:03 AM
S
smf Offline
S
Originally Posted By Fake Shemp
As far as I know, the CHD format for CDs currently doesn't support dump formats such as CCD/SUB,

The chd format does and so does mame, it's just chdman that doesn't. I wrote a clonecd to bin/toc converter years ago, so if anyone submits dumps in that format they can still be used.

Last edited by smf; 06/28/16 07:05 AM.
Re: Sub-channel support for CDs [Re: Fake Shemp] #106197 06/28/16 02:36 PM
F
F1ReB4LL Offline
F