Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#106582 07/24/16 05:04 AM
OP Offline
in my previous post I have explained I am not new to MAME but in many ways I am. One way I am new to MAME is the amateurish way I update MAME.

When there is a new release, I download the binaries zip and unzip the contents to a new folder which is named after the latest release(I don't do so for every release, just when I feel like it for a particular release, based largely on the changes made listed in the new release readme file) I am lost when it comes to source code as I have next to no programming skill(unless it's within a specific program I have encountered in my schooling such as Microsoft Excel, Matlab, Maple, and MathCad)

I would like explanation as to the best methods to upgrade MAME with each release.

AMDFx(tm)-6120 Six-Core Processor 3.50 GHz
10 GB RAM 64-bit Operating System, x64-based processor
ASH Offline
Mame is now updated once a month (around the 26th , normally the wednesday))

http://mamedev.org/release.php

the top one will work. "mame0175b.exe"
the second one is for 64 bit PC's

download and overwrite or clean install to a Mame folder.

google is your friend for the extra's and roms try searching for
"dome roms pleasure" and click the top link smile

Last edited by ASH; 07/24/16 08:33 AM.
S
Very Senior Member
Very Senior Member
S
If you have 64-bit Windows, you *absolutely* should use the one for 64-bit PCs.

OP Offline
I do have 64 bit Windows. The next update will definitely be the 64 bit version of MAME smile

AMDFx(tm)-6120 Six-Core Processor 3.50 GHz
10 GB RAM 64-bit Operating System, x64-based processor
O
O
I'm also a bit lost here. What's the best way to update MAME to the latest version without losing or overwriting my settings from the version I had installed previously?

L
Very Senior Member
Online Content
Very Senior Member
L
This is assuming windows, but works pretty similarly on osx/linux too: