Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Spinner Setup Help? #117091 03/29/20 08:45 PM
S
Spazmier Offline OP
OP Offline
S
I am new to this whole MAME arcade cabinet stuff, so forgive me if I am missing something simple. I have embarked on making my own MAME arcade cabinet. I have a PC running Windows 7, and the Joysticks and buttons I have are working great.

I have purchased a spinner: Arcade Spinner for Arcade1Up
and a 12in1 board: Arcade1Up 12 in 1 Interface Board

I have them connected to my Windows 7 box, and the spinner will move the mouse cursor in windows up and down. So the USB/driver connection to the PC and windows driver is all good. I have not yet been able to ghet the spinner to work with MAME.

I tried using the in-mage TAB menus. Usually I can click on a control option to change, press the button (or move joystick), then MAME recognizes it and uses it. However, I can rotate my spinner all I want, and MAME doesn't recognize it. It will recognize the mouse movements. I tried enabling Multi-Mouse, but that didn't seem to do the trick. I am obviously missing something. Any suggestions?

(Video of my initial "plans" for the build)

Thanks for any suggestions!

Steve

Re: Spinner Setup Help? [Re: Spazmier] #117092 03/29/20 10:47 PM
R
RomKnight Online Content
Online Content
R
Well, first of, I *think* the spinner should move in the x-axis. You should check the wires.

Not saying it wont work in mame like that, but i don't recall any spinner connected like that.

In mame.ini you should have the line below like mouse too.
dial_device mouse
But maybe you also need:
paddle_device mouse

If you want to see it in mame internal ui i think ui_mouse 1 should also be set.

Re: Spinner Setup Help? [Re: Spazmier] #117093 03/29/20 11:26 PM
R
R. Belmont Online Content
Very Senior Member
Online Content
Very Senior Member
R
Axis shouldn't matter, but yeah, the xxx_device mouse settings are important.

Re: Spinner Setup Help? [Re: RomKnight] #117094 03/30/20 03:37 PM
S