Print Thread
Cross-platform rumble #113771
08/07/18 09:18 PM
08/07/18 09:18 PM
S
Shoegazer Offline OP
Shoegazer  Offline OP
S
I recently discovered a barcade nearby that I hadn't realized was there, and going in I was happy to see an original After Burner there among other classics. I started playing and was immediately reminded of what a difference the game makes with rumble (force-feedback) in effect vs. what mame currently offers. There are other similar cases too, of course - some that immediately come to mind are certain driving games like Outrun/Hang-on, most Playstation 1 games, and even systems of little reknown. To that end I'm curious what it would take to add such support to mame in a sustainable, cross-platform way, likely via sdl2 - even if it's just rumble and not "real" force-feedback. There had been some past interest in adding such support but that seems to be gone now, though if anyone does show serious interest I'm willing to help out in any way I can. It just seems like it could add a lot of value.

Re: Cross-platform rumble [Re: Shoegazer] #113772
08/07/18 09:37 PM
08/07/18 09:37 PM
J
Just Desserts Offline
Very Senior Member
Just Desserts  Offline
Very Senior Member
J
There isn't any sort of cross-platform standard for force feedback. There isn't even any sort of single-platform standard for force feedback. It's an anything-goes nightmare out there, one that the devs have rightly decided should be in the wheelhouse of those who are more passionate about human interface devices than emulation.

To that end, MAME already exports many of these games' force feedback outputs in a form that can be accessed from another application while MAME is running. We've built the first half of the bridge, it would be nice to not have to build the other half, too. It also doesn't lose us any additional more users we haven't already lost by not doing so.