Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
Re: Battlezone fun [Re: Golden Child] #117372 05/24/20 02:45 PM
F
fadden Offline
F
Originally Posted by Golden Child
I like how you integrated the pictures of the shapes.

I think we had similar goals, but wildly different approaches. :-) I'm new to MAME, and had no idea the debugger could do the things you showed.

Originally Posted by Golden Child
One of the things I'd been fiddling with lately was figuring out the 3d models from Stellar 7, you might have a gander at https://www.calormen.com/jsbasic/ and look in the sample programs.

Stellar 7 is pretty straightforward once you figure out that
it's using polar coordinates
, though even figuring out which of the various files holds the data takes some digging. Elite was a bit more twisty... between the backface culling and the subtle bugs nobody noticed, it took a while to sort out, even with a commented BBC Micro disassembly.

Re: Battlezone fun [Re: Golden Child] #117373 05/24/20 03:55 PM
D
Dullaron Offline
D
There used to be a iOS Tank game base off of the Battlezone. Atari made the dev removed it. https://www.pocketgamer.com/article...i-onto-ios-under-the-name-panzerkampf-3/ That long time ago. Here is a video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=73htOPb6bEw Too bad I didn't get it.

Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Intel Core i5-4460 3.20 GHz / 8.00 GB RAM / AMD Radeon R9 200 Series
Re: Battlezone fun [Re: fadden] #117374 05/24/20 04:58 PM
R
R. Belmont Online Content
Very Senior Member
Online Content
Very Senior Member
R
Originally Posted by fadden
I'm new to MAME, and had no idea the debugger could do the things you showed.