Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
G
gspat Offline OP
OP Offline
G
First off, I'm NOT a MAME dev, so if my suggestion below is unrealistic or stupid, feel free to leave a simple "GO TO HELL, GLEN!" comment below...

-----

Anyways, This was just posted in the r/mame subbreddit:

https://www.reddit.com/r/MAME/comments/rzip1c/whats_the_difference_between_mame_romset_037b5/

The poster honestly didn't know the difference, or at least understand, the versioning system as it is. He honestly thought that 0.37b5 was newer that 0.236.

I've corrected posters before with similar ideas before, and will again in the future. I have no problem with that.

But maybe it's time to make the versioning system a bit more idiot proof? (I understand, they'll just build better idiots - I work in IT and there's truly no amount of simplifying some things)

I'd like to suggest MAME YYYY.MMR

ie: MAME 2022.01

So, 2022 and January in the above example, with R being a revision letter (ie: "A") if a release is totally borked and needs to be re-done.

It's a new year... So fresh start?

Anyways, that's it. Thank you for reading!

J
Very Senior Member
Very Senior Member
J
I won't tell you to go to hell, but I will point out that if you take a jaunt over to the "Old Releases" page on the MAME website, you can see that the current versioning scheme has held since August, 2001: https://www.mamedev.org/oldrel.html

I was still in high school, for fuck's sake.
- Both World Trade Center buildings were still standing.
- Suge Knight had just been released from prison.
- System of a Down were still putting the finishing touches on Toxicity.
- Jay & Silent Bob were still 12 days away from Striking Back.
- Square Co., Ltd. (which were still two years away from merging with Enix) had just released Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within through their Square Pictures label.
- Blizzard were gearing up to announce World of Warcraft the subsequent month.