Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
Re: BBC Tube WIP [Re: AJR] #111510
12/05/17 06:14 PM
12/05/17 06:14 PM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 209
UK
Pernod Online content OP
Senior Member
Pernod  Online Content OP
Senior Member
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 209
UK
Originally Posted by AJR
I think you'll just have to push it manually at machine start, by writing something like m_pia->cb2_w(1).

Not that simple unfortunately, this will only set the CB2 in state, I need to set the CB2 out state. So I thought about setting CB2 to output and pulling high with:
Code
m_pia_rtc->write(machine().dummy_space(), 0x03, 0x3c);

Startup log before letting machine run with additional logging for pia resets:
Code
[:internal:cumana68k:pia_rtc] PIA control B write = 3C
[:internal:cumana68k:pia_rtc] PIA control B temp = 1
[:internal:cumana68k:pia_rtc] data 01 m_out_cb2 00 .. z 00 m_last_out_cb2_z 00
[:internal:cumana68k] reset68008_w 1
[:internal:cumana68k:sasi:1:harddisk] T10SBC :internal:cumana68k:sasi:1:harddisk: no HD found!
[:internal:cumana68k:pia_sasi] pia6821 reset
[:internal:cumana68k:pia_rtc] pia6821 reset
[:internal:cumana68k:pia_rtc] PIA control B write = 3C
[:internal:cumana68k:pia_rtc] PIA control B temp = 1
[:internal:cumana68k:pia_rtc] data 01 m_out_cb2 00 .. z 00 m_last_out_cb2_z 00
[:internal:cumana68k] reset68008_w 1
[:internal:cumana68k:sasi:1:harddisk] T10SBC :internal:cumana68k:sasi:1:harddisk: no HD found!
[:internal:cumana68k:pia_sasi] pia6821 reset
[:internal:cumana68k:pia_rtc] pia6821 reset
[:internal:cumana68k:wd2797] cmd: seek 1 0 (track=0)

Shouldn't child devices be reset before their parents during startup? My cumana68k device is setting CB2 in it's reset() but the pia is reset afterwards, resetting m_out_cb2=0.


BBC Model B, ATPL Sidewise, Acorn Speech, 2xWatford Floppy Drives, AMX Mouse, Viglen case, etc.
Re: BBC Tube WIP [Re: Pernod] #111511
12/05/17 06:34 PM
12/05/17 06:34 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 854
Germany
D
Duke Offline
Senior Member
Duke  Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 854
Germany
Use device_reset_after_children() if you need to be called after the child devices.

Re: BBC Tube WIP [Re: Duke] #111512
12/05/17 07:48 PM
12/05/17 07:48 PM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 209
UK
Pernod Online content OP
Senior Member
Pernod  Online Content OP
Senior Member
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 209
UK
Originally Posted by Duke
Use device_reset_after_children() if you need to be called after the child devices.

Thanks, never used that before. Now progressing to attempt to boot OS-9 from floppy.


BBC Model B, ATPL Sidewise, Acorn Speech, 2xWatford Floppy Drives, AMX Mouse, Viglen case, etc.
Re: BBC Tube WIP [Re: Pernod] #111556
12/08/17 01:58 PM
12/08/17 01:58 PM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 209
UK
Pernod Online content OP
Senior Member
Pernod  Online Content OP
Senior Member
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 209
UK
Here's a rarity, practically a whole Archimedes as a 2nd processor:
http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org.uk/8bit_Upgrades/Acorn_A5002ndProc.html
[Linked Image]
It has it's own video output but haven't yet managed to get anything out of it, in progress.


BBC Model B, ATPL Sidewise, Acorn Speech, 2xWatford Floppy Drives, AMX Mouse, Viglen case, etc.
Re: BBC Tube WIP [Re: Pernod] #111557
12/08/17 02:17 PM
12/08/17 02:17 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15,966
USA
R
R. Belmont Online content
Very Senior Member
R. Belmont  Online Content
Very Senior Member
R
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15,966
USA
That's pretty crazy, but it makes sense as a developmental step.

Re: BBC Tube WIP [Re: Pernod] #111559
12/08/17 05:29 PM
12/08/17 05:29 PM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 209
UK
Pernod Online content OP
Senior Member
Pernod  Online Content OP
Senior Member
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 209
UK
At the moment I've just copied most of the archimedes machine into my device, as I needed to map the Tube ULA into the IOC. Can I somehow include the archimedes driver_device in my bus device?

I also have ROMs from a prototype A500, http://chrisacorns.computinghistory.org.uk/Computers/A500.html, which will also need changes in IOC for different FDC, econet and winchester. Should I just add them all as optional devices?


BBC Model B, ATPL Sidewise, Acorn Speech, 2xWatford Floppy Drives, AMX Mouse, Viglen case, etc.
Re: BBC Tube WIP [Re: Pernod] #111560
12/08/17 06:18 PM
12/08/17 06:18 PM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,671
J
Just Desserts Offline
Very Senior Member
Just Desserts  Offline
Very Senior Member
J
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 1,671
Originally Posted by Pernod
Can I somehow include the archimedes driver_device in my bus device?


Please don't. If the Archimedes driver_device doesn't already implement the chipset as a set of devices, it should be reworked to do that first.

Re: BBC Tube WIP [Re: crazyc] #113351
05/07/18 10:14 AM
05/07/18 10:14 AM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 209
UK
Pernod Online content OP
Senior Member
Pernod  Online Content OP
Senior Member
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 209
UK
Originally Posted by crazyc
Makes sense to halt the cpu during refresh. Interesting that PCS0 is connected to INT1.

How do I implement the PCS0 line, obviously using MCFG_80186_CHIP_SELECT_CB. I'm not sure how to determine the state of PCS0 from data.
Code
WRITE16_MEMBER(bbc_tube_80186_device::chip_select_cb)
{
	logerror("chip select offset %02x, %04x\n", offset, data);
	switch (offset)
	{
	case 0:  // upper memory
		m_i80186->space(AS_PROGRAM).install_rom(0xc0000, 0xc3fff, 0x3c000, m_bootstrap->base());
		break;
	case 1:  // lower memory
		//m_i80186->space(AS_PROGRAM).install_rom(0xc0000, 0xc3fff, 0x3c000, m_bootstrap->base());
		break;
	case 2:  // peripheral
		m_i80186->int1_w(data & 1);
	}
}


BBC Model B, ATPL Sidewise, Acorn Speech, 2xWatford Floppy Drives, AMX Mouse, Viglen case, etc.
Re: BBC Tube WIP [Re: Pernod] #113356
05/07/18 01:05 PM
05/07/18 01:05 PM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 782
C
crazyc Offline
Senior Member
crazyc  Offline
Senior Member
C
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 782
MCFG_80186_CHIP_SELECT_CB doesn't give you the state of the chip selects just their base address so you know where it's mapped. If the pcs address never changes just put the things connected to it in the address map as usual and you can ignore the callback.

Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4

Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Stiletto), 32 guests, and 2 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Shout Box
Forum Statistics
Forums9
Topics8,555
Posts111,753
Members4,801
Most Online225
May 26th, 2014
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1.1
(Release build 20180111)
Page Time: 0.035s Queries: 16 (0.016s) Memory: 5.7142 MB (Peak: 5.9280 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-21 01:51:00 UTC