Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
CoCo 'Extended ADOS 3'--How do I get this working? #110504
08/04/17 03:57 AM
08/04/17 03:57 AM
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
S
swallis Offline OP
Member
swallis  Offline OP
Member
S
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
Does anyone know how to get the Color Computer 3 "Extended ADOS 3" working?
Here are the steps I have done, but it isn't working properly yet.

I'm using MESSUI64 1.87 from www.progettosnaps.net/messui/


1. From the "ADOS 3" disk RUN"CUSTOMIZ.BAS", save your ADOS file as MYFILE.BIN

2. Copy MYFILE.BIN file to the "Extended ADOS 3" disk.

3. Run "ECUST.BAS", use default settings and save it (it will use EPROM.BIN).

4. Copy EPROM.BIN from the .DSK image to a hard drive folder.

5. Edit EPRON.BIN, remove the first 5 bytes and the last 5 bytes,
save it. So it is now 16,384 Bytes.

6. Copy EPROM.BIN into \MESS\Roms

7. I used HashMyFiles.zip to find the EPROM.BIN hashes.
www.nirsoft.net/utils/hash_my_files.html

8. Edit \MESS\Hash\coco_cart.xml and add these lines near the end:
<software name="extendedados3">
<description>ADOS 3 Extended 1</description>
<year>1989</year>
<publisher>SpectroSystems</publisher>
<info name="developer" value="SpectroSystems" />
<info name="author" value="Arthur J. Flexser" />
<info name="serial" value="26-9991" />
<part name="cart" interface="coco_cart">
<dataarea name="rom" size="16384">
<rom name="EPROM.BIN" size="16384" crc="7f0edf28" sha1="6ca61e29c136ec8201492ca7f9eb050912f3582d" offset="0" />
</dataarea>
</part>
</software>

9. Run MESSUI64, load EPROM.BIN into the Cartridge slot.

10. Start Color Computer 3 emulation.


It starts up but it is screwy. Instead of the startup message, I get 8 graphics characters; then the cursor shows up.
Only some of the Ctrl keys seem to work. Key repeat works. The new DOS commands work.

Thank you in advance!

Re: CoCo 'Extended ADOS 3'--How do I get this working? [Re: swallis] #110515
08/04/17 01:30 PM
08/04/17 01:30 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15,964
USA
R
R. Belmont Online content
Very Senior Member
R. Belmont  Online Content
Very Senior Member
R
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15,964
USA
It's possible the cart uses some sort of mapper or bank switching and the XML needs to indicate that.

Re: CoCo 'Extended ADOS 3'--How do I get this working? [Re: swallis] #110560
08/09/17 08:29 PM
08/09/17 08:29 PM
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
S
swallis Offline OP
Member
swallis  Offline OP
Member
S
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 12
Since the "Extended ADOS 3" disk rom is 16k instead of the default 8k disk rom,
it has to be mounted in the cartridge slot to work.

Does anyone know what the possible values of \MESS\Hash\coco_cart.xml are (see Step 8 above).
I'm not sure if this:

<part name="cart" interface="coco_cart">

should be something like:

<part name="cart" interface="coco_fdc">

Re: CoCo 'Extended ADOS 3'--How do I get this working? [Re: swallis] #110562
08/09/17 11:26 PM
08/09/17 11:26 PM
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 82
A
AJR Offline
Member
AJR  Offline
Member
A
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 82
The Extended ADOS-3 manual says that it needs to be able to bank in part of its own 27128 EPROM over Super Extended BASIC, but this ability should be built into the GIME.


Who's Online Now
3 registered members (Tafoid, Praxis, 1 invisible), 14 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Shout Box
Forum Statistics
Forums9
Topics8,552
Posts111,739
Members4,800
Most Online225
May 26th, 2014
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1.1
(Release build 20180111)
Page Time: 0.035s Queries: 15 (0.019s) Memory: 5.6054 MB (Peak: 5.7762 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-07-15 19:03:47 UTC