Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 6 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Re: FireFly on the ZX Spectrum - Missing graphics [Re: R. Belmont] #112792
03/03/18 06:03 PM
03/03/18 06:03 PM
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 71
G
geecab Offline OP
Member
geecab  Offline OP
Member
G
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 71
Originally Posted by R. Belmont
That's a very new change though, I'll apply it locally and submit.

That would be excellent, thanks! smile

Re: FireFly on the ZX Spectrum - Missing graphics [Re: geecab] #112794
03/03/18 08:01 PM
03/03/18 08:01 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15,988
USA
R
R. Belmont Offline
Very Senior Member
R. Belmont  Offline
Very Senior Member
R
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15,988
USA
I've applied a version of this patch with the first_screen references fixed up. Thank you, geecab!

Re: FireFly on the ZX Spectrum - Missing graphics [Re: geecab] #112982
03/28/18 05:21 PM
03/28/18 05:21 PM
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 252
I
ICEknight Offline
Senior Member
ICEknight  Offline
Senior Member
I
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 252
Just tried Firefly on the latest release and it works like a charm, great work!

Out of curiosity, I've also tested Cobra since it was another one of Joffa Smith's games, and it seems to have some strange speed and flickering issues. Could it be related to the same problems that affected Firefly?


LCD artwork cleanups: https://mega.nz/#F!uFYSzK7S!U-lJon9jsqyoCX_3y7_KLA
Re: FireFly on the ZX Spectrum - Missing graphics [Re: geecab] #112983
03/28/18 07:22 PM
03/28/18 07:22 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15,988
USA
R
R. Belmont Offline
Very Senior Member
R. Belmont  Offline
Very Senior Member
R
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15,988
USA
The fix in 0.196 isn't meant to address all ZX graphical issues, but it does make a lot more games correct. Deeper plumbing is necessary for 100% compatibility.

Re: FireFly on the ZX Spectrum - Missing graphics [Re: geecab] #112995
03/29/18 03:27 PM
03/29/18 03:27 PM
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 71
G
geecab Offline OP
Member
geecab  Offline OP
Member
G
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 71
Just tried Cobra original release (Cobra.tap.zip from WOS) and the game play speed does repeatedly speed up and slow down. I wonder if this could be something to do with floating bus behavior. I believe Joffa reads the floating bus in a few of his games (Instead of counting the cycles after the vertical retrace interrupt) to work out where the raster is. I'm just guessing now (or I might have read it somewhere), but maybe he did away with waiting for the vertical refresh interrupt completely and relied solely on the floating bus for Cobra's in game timing. Unfortunately, mame doesn't emulate floating bus behavior accurately yet though.

However, there are a few versions of Cobra on WOS. Some labeled as 'fixed', and a few re-releases (The Hit Squad). Another guess, but I think the newer versions don't rely on floating bus behavior (So that they can work on newer Spectrum models +2a and +3, where there is no floating bus). I just tried the one called Cobra(TheHitSquad).tzx.zip and this one looks & plays fine on mame smile

Page 6 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6

Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 51 guests, and 3 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Shout Box
Forum Statistics
Forums9
Topics8,566
Posts111,888
Members4,805
Most Online225
May 26th, 2014
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1.1
(Release build 20180111)
Page Time: 0.052s Queries: 16 (0.025s) Memory: 5.6757 MB (Peak: 5.8598 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-17 13:33:29 UTC