Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Spectravideo SVI-805 RS232 #114290
11/14/18 03:57 AM
11/14/18 03:57 AM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 102
T
TSCHAK Offline OP
Senior Member
TSCHAK  Offline OP
Senior Member
T
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 102
Hi, I'm working on various ports of PLATOTerm to different systems, and one of those on my list is the Spectravideo SVI-3x8.

I have the terminal working, and I need a working emulation of the SVI-805 RS232 card.

The card itself is an 8250 UART, and a dash of glue logic that sits the UART starting at I/O port 28H.

Is there some extant code in MAME that I can look at to try and add support for this RS232 interface to the SVI machine?

-Thom

Re: Spectravideo SVI-805 RS232 [Re: TSCHAK] #114291
11/14/18 04:38 AM
11/14/18 04:38 AM
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 86
A
AJR Online content
Member
AJR  Online Content
Member
A
Joined: Dec 2015
Posts: 86
The RS232 card is already implemented as a slot device, though you'll need to add it through a SV-60x expander. Adding "-exp sv601 -exp:sv601:0 sv805" to the command line is one way to do it.

Re: Spectravideo SVI-805 RS232 [Re: TSCHAK] #114299
11/14/18 06:43 PM
11/14/18 06:43 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 862
Germany
D
Duke Online content
Senior Member
Duke  Online Content
Senior Member
D
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 862
Germany
Here's a screenshot:

[Linked Image]

- Screen 1: Standard SVI-328 screen
- Screen 2: 80 column card
- Screen 3: Builtin MAME serial terminal

Re: Spectravideo SVI-805 RS232 [Re: TSCHAK] #114300
11/14/18 07:07 PM
11/14/18 07:07 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 16,070
USA
R
R. Belmont Online content
Very Senior Member
R. Belmont  Online Content
Very Senior Member
R
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 16,070
USA
Nice smile

Re: Spectravideo SVI-805 RS232 [Re: TSCHAK] #114304
11/15/18 04:21 AM
11/15/18 04:21 AM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 102
T
TSCHAK Offline OP
Senior Member
TSCHAK  Offline OP
Senior Member
T
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 102
am trying to use it with null_modem and -bitb going to tcpser, like so:

Code
tcpser -v 25232 -s 2400 -i "&K0" -t sSiI


and

Code
./mame64.exe -window -resolution 1024x768 svi328 -exp sv601 -exp:sv601:0 sv801 -exp:sv601:1 sv805 -exp:sv601:1:sv805:rs232 null_modem -bitb socket.localhost:25232 -flop1 plato.svi


What am I doing wrong?
-Thom

Re: Spectravideo SVI-805 RS232 [Re: TSCHAK] #114306
11/15/18 08:21 AM
11/15/18 08:21 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 862
Germany
D
Duke Online content
Senior Member
Duke  Online Content
Senior Member
D
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 862
Germany
I'm pretty sure disks need to have the ".dsk" extension. Other than that, we can't know since you don't actually say what's going wrong.


Who's Online Now
3 registered members (Richard Bannister, Duke, 1 invisible), 109 guests, and 2 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Shout Box
Forum Statistics
Forums9
Topics8,606
Posts112,515
Members4,827
Most Online296
Dec 5th, 2018
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1.1
(Release build 20180111)
Page Time: 0.030s Queries: 15 (0.008s) Memory: 5.6230 MB (Peak: 5.8118 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-12-15 13:58:35 UTC