Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#121826 01/02/23 07:40 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Likes: 1
E
Member
OP Offline
Member
E
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Likes: 1
I’ve encountered a strange issue when I try to use D3D video mode in MAME where the screen looks grey. I’ve attached screenshots for comparison. I’ve been through all the options and it won’t go away. It looks fine in BGFX mode and OpenGL.

Using a Dell Optiplex 9020 on Windows10.

Hope someone can help!

D3D mode:
[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

BGFX mode:
[Linked Image from i.postimg.cc]

Last edited by Eighties Kid; 01/02/23 07:45 PM.
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 2,092
Likes: 126
J
Very Senior Member
Offline
Very Senior Member
J
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 2,092
Likes: 126
What kind of GPU do you have, and if you don't have one, what kind of integrated graphics?

When running with D3D, are you specifying `-hlsl` or `-nohlsl`?

Do you inadvertently have some sort of color profile (HDR?) set up in your graphics drivers that might need to be turned off?

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Likes: 1
E
Member
OP Offline
Member
E
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Likes: 1
Thanks - yes trying to use d3d with hlsl enabled. The graphics card is just what came bundled with the Dell Optiplex 9020 which I believe is an Intel HD Graphics 4600.

No idea whether any colour profiles are associated with it but will check if I can figure how to!

Could this be helped by going back to windows XP perhaps? I did have to download an older patch for Direct3D in order to get HLSL working for vector game bloom effects which look fine although d3d mode has always been greyed before I got that to work.

Last edited by Eighties Kid; 01/03/23 12:12 AM.
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 16,964
Likes: 78
R
Very Senior Member
Offline
Very Senior Member
R
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 16,964
Likes: 78
No, you definitely don't want to go back to XP.

Joined: Jan 2021
Posts: 138
Likes: 3
=
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
=
Joined: Jan 2021
Posts: 138
Likes: 3
Check if your graphics card driver menu has separate user settings for RGB/HSL in different modes.

My main PC (Win98SE on Riva TNT2 and later GeForce3 Ti200) had a graphics card menu with very complex user settings. I tried to compensate colour flaws of my Trinitron CRT (unfortunately they vary by heat and vibration) and so desperately tried hard to understand how it worked. AFAIK the GeForce3 could even predistort trapezoid shape for projectors etc., so there may be different user settings for different modes of the graphics card (e.g. separate RGB/HSL curves and contrast/brightness in video playback mode). Check if there is e.g. a text, photo and gaming mode, or if it thinks it should use HDR where it shouldn't.

Last edited by =CO=Windler; 01/03/23 06:25 AM.

MAY THE SOFTWARE BE WITH YOU!

{weltenschule.de}
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 188
Likes: 2
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 188
Likes: 2
Okay, Windler, how the FUCK is experience with a Windows 98 SE era GeForce 3 in any way relevant to this issue? Literally everything in this case is different, hardware AND software.

Joined: Jan 2021
Posts: 138
Likes: 3
=
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
=
Joined: Jan 2021
Posts: 138
Likes: 3
👎
The point is, graphics cards can have different setup menus for different modes (desktop, video decoding/playback, 3D rendering etc.) and so fail only in one specific job when something in Windows control panel was setup wrongly.

Last edited by =CO=Windler; 01/04/23 07:47 AM.

MAY THE SOFTWARE BE WITH YOU!

{weltenschule.de}
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Likes: 1
E
Member
OP Offline
Member
E
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Likes: 1
SOLVED! By setting the bloom scale to 0 seems to be looking great now! Still a mystery though as by opening MAME directly and setting video to d3d the actual menu goes grey which is odd. Anyway, happy with the results now. Thanks for the tips

1 member likes this: Dullaron
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 763
Likes: 1
D
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 763
Likes: 1
Yeah the bloom will do that when it too high. It even will make the Tempest flash white and then go back to normal.


Windows 10 Home 64-bit / AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT / AMD Ryzen 7 3700X 8-Core 3.59 GHz / RAM 16 GB

Link Copied to Clipboard
Who's Online Now
1 members (Reznor007), 21 guests, and 3 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Forum Statistics
Forums9
Topics9,158
Posts119,937
Members5,034
Most Online1,283
Dec 21st, 2022
Our Sponsor
These forums are sponsored by Superior Solitaire, an ad-free card game collection for macOS and iOS. Download it today!

Superior Solitaire
Forum hosted by www.retrogamesformac.com